This website uses cookies. Cookies are text files that websites place on your computer to collect information about your visit. Find out how we use cookies and how to switch them off here: Cookie Policy

Board Members

The Board comprises of the chair, three Executive and six Non-executive Members.

Executive Members

Douglas Millican, Chief Executive
Douglas was appointed as Chief Executive in 2013 having previously been Finance and Regulation Director since Scottish Water was formed in 2002. He was formerly with East of Scotland Water, initially as Financial Controller and latterly as Commercial Director. Prior to this, he worked with Price Waterhouse and Tyco. He is a Chartered Accountant with a BCom from the University of Edinburgh and is an Associate Member of the Association of Corporate Treasurers.

Peter Farrer, Chief Operating Officer
Peter was formerly Customer Service Delivery Director and was General Manager of Operations. Prior to this he held various operational and engineering roles within Scottish Water’s predecessor organisations, East of Scotland Water and Lothian Water and Drainage. He has 31 years’ experience in the water industry since graduating from Heriot Watt University as a Civil Engineer in 1984. He is a Chartered Civil Engineer, gained an MBA from the Edinburgh Business School in 2001 and is a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers and a Vice-President of the Institute of Customer Service

Alan Scott, Finance Director
Alan joined Scottish Water in September 2013 from Balfour Beatty Regional where he was Finance Director, having previously held the roles of Finance Director and Interim Managing Director of Balfour Beatty Engineering Services. He was Finance Director of Miller Construction for 8 years and has also held Finance Director positions in the oil service industry. He has an MA in Economics and Accounting from Aberdeen University. He qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Arthur Andersen where he spent 10 years in the Corporate Recovery Services Team.

Non-executive Members

Lady Susan Rice CBE
Lady Susan Rice CBE was appointed Chair of Scottish Water on 1 June 2015. She is also Chair of the Scottish Fiscal Commission and a Non-Executive Director of J Sainsbury plc and the North American Income Trust. She was a member of the First Minister’s Council of Economic Advisors, Managing Director of Lloyds Banking Group Scotland and was previously Chief Executive and then Chair of Lloyds TSB Scotland plc.  She is also the Chair of Business Stream and has held a range of other senior non-executive appointments including a seven year term as a non-executive Director of the Bank of England and eleven years as a non-executive Director of SSE plc. She is also the President of Scottish Council for Development and Industry. 

Alan Bryce
Alan was formerly Managing Director of Energy Networks and Generation at Scottish Power, and a Non-executive Director of Infinis Energy plc and of Iberdrola USA in New York. He is currently Chair of Viking Energy Shetland, a Non-executive Director of Jersey Electricity Plc, and an advisor in the utilities industry. He holds a Masters degree in Electrical Power Engineering from the University of Strathclyde and is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Lynne Peacock
Lynne is a former Chief Executive of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Banks, a role that she held from 2004 until 2011. She started her career in banking in 1983 with the Woolwich, joining the Woolwich Board in 1996, and became Chief Executive in 2000. She became a Non-executive Director of Nationwide Building Society in July 2011, where she Chairs the Remuneration Committee and joined the Board of the Standard Life Group as a Non-executive Director in April 2012. She became Chairman of Standard Life Assurance Limited in April 2016 and Chairman of the Trustees of the Westminster Society for People with Learning Disabilities from the same date.

Matt Smith OBE JP
Matt was Scottish Secretary of UNISON until 2010 and STUC President in 1999/2000. He currently serves as a Scottish Human Rights Commissioner, a Member of the Standards Commission for Scotland, a Member of the Employment Appeal Tribunal, a Director of Irvine Bay Regeneration Company and a Director of UNITY Enterprise. He is a Fellow and Policy Committee Member of the Scottish Council for Development and Industry. He has served as a Justice for 30 years and is a JPAC Member, is a Member of the CIPFA disciplinary scheme and a Member of ICAS's Regulation Board.

Jim Spowart
Jim was the founder and Chief Executive of Direct Line Financial Services, Standard Life Bank and Intelligent Finance. He has considerable corporate experience and retired from Intelligent Finance in 2002. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from Edinburgh Napier University for his contribution to banking and also to the economic development of the central belt of Scotland where he created over 5,000 banking jobs. Since he retired, he has been involved in various consultancy projects and currently he is the Chairman of a Church of Scotland Charity We-evolution.  He was also a Commissioner to the Church of Scotland during 2012 and 2013.

Andrew Wyllie CBE
Andrew is Chief Executive of Costain Group PLC, the worldwide construction and engineering group. Prior to taking up this role in 2005, he worked for Taylor Woodrow where he was Managing Director of the construction business and was a member of the Group Executive Committee. He is a graduate of the University of Strathclyde, has an MBA from London Business School and is a Vice-President of the Institution of Civil Engineers. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, a member of the CBI Construction Council and a Companion of the Chartered Management Institute. 

Paul Smith

Paul is formerly the Managing Director of Generation at SSE Plc. He is currently chair of Capstone Power Corporation in Canada, a member of the Edinburgh University Business School International Advisory Board, Energy Institute Council Member and also an adviser to the Energy, Infrastructure and Asset Management industries. A graduate chemical engineer from Edinburgh University with an MBA from Henley Management College. He is a Fellow of both the Institute of Chemical Engineers and the Energy Institute.

Jim Coyle, BAcc CA FCIBS
Jim  is a non-executive director of HSBC Bank plc and Marks and Spencer Financial Services plc. He is also a non-executive director of the Scottish Building Society and a member of the Financial Reporting Council’s Monitoring Committee, a member of the Board and chairman of the Audit Committee of Honeycomb Investment Trust Plc. Former appointments include: Deputy FD for Lloyds Banking Group; Group Chief Accountant of Bank of Scotland; member of the Audit Committee of the British Bankers Association; a director of Scottish Financial Enterprise; and a member of the Board and chairman of the Audit Committee of Vocalink Plc, member of the Financial Reporting Council’s Reporting Review Panel and the ICAS Council.