This website uses cookies. Cookies are text files that websites place on your computer to collect information about your visit. Find out how we use cookies and how to switch them off here: Cookie Policy

Board Members

The Board comprises four Executive and eight Non executive Members

Executive Members of the Board

Geoff Aitkenhead
Chris Banks
Peter Farrer
Douglas Millican
Alan Scott

Non-executive Members of the Board

Chairman: Ronnie Mercer


Ronnie was appointed Chair of Scottish Water in October 2007 after having been Interim Chair of Scottish Water since April 2006. Until his retirement from Scottish Power in March 2006 he was Executive Vice President - Operations at Scottish Power’s PacifiCorp subsidiary and an Executive Team Member of Scottish Power.

Ronnie moved to Scottish Power from British Steel in 1994 as Generation Director. In 1998 he became Managing Director of Scottish Power’s Southern Water subsidiary, after which he became a Group Director in the company.

Alan Bryce

Alan was formerly Managing Director of Energy Networks and Generation at Scottish Power, and a Non-executive Director of Iberdrola USA in New York. He is currently Chair of Viking Energy Shetland, a Non-executive Director of Infinis Energy plc, and an advisor in the utilities industry. 

Alan holds a Masters degree in Electrical Power Engineering from the University of Strathclyde and is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Donald Emslie

Donald Emslie is Chair of CHMC Ltd, which manages hotels across the UK and Ireland.

He is also Chair of Thorpe Hall Leisure Ltd which owns the Lifehouse Spa & Hotel in Essex. He was previously Chief Executive of SMG Plc and Chair of ITV Network Ltd.

Donald is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and The Royal Television Society and has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate from Robert Gordon University for his services to television and media.

Lynne Peacock

Lynne is a former Chief Executive of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Banks, a role that she held from 2004 until 2011. She started her career in banking in 1983, with the Woolwich, joining the Woolwich Board in 1996 and became Chief Executive in 2000.

Lynne became a Non Executive Director of Nationwide Building Society in July 2011 and joined the Board of Standard Life as a Non Executive Director in April 2012.

Douglas Reid

Douglas is a former Finance Director of BG Group plc’s North Sea business. He joined Scottish Gas in 1979 and held various positions in gas retailing before joining BG Group’s exploration and production business unit. He held various senior management positions in Russia, Egypt, Italy, India and Trinidad and Tobago before returning to Scotland in 2009. He has gained extensive experience in a capital intensive industry, has worked with government regulators in a number of countries and has extensive corporate governance experience having chaired Audit Committees of various companies. He now manages a training company focussed on the oil and gas industry.

Douglas is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and a Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute.

Matt Smith

Matt was Scottish Secretary of UNISON until 2010 and STUC President in 1999/2000.

He serves as a Scottish Human Rights Commissioner, a Member of the Standards Commission for Scotland, a Member of the Employment Appeal Tribunal and a Director of Irvine Bay Urban Regeneration Company. He is an Honorary Fellow of the Scottish Council for Development and Industry and continues to serve on their Executive.

Matt has served as a JP for 28 years and continues to work with a range of regulatory and charitable organisations.

James Spowart

Jim Spowart was the founder and Chief Executive of Direct Line Financial Services, Standard Life Bank and Intelligent Finance. Jim has considerable corporate experience and retired from Intelligent Finance in 2002.

He was awarded an honorary doctorate from Edinburgh Napier University for his contribution to banking and also to the economic development of the central belt of Scotland where he created over 5,000 banking jobs. Since he retired he has been involved in various consultancy projects and assisted many companies including providing consultancy advice to various banks located both abroad and in the UK. 

Jim was also a Commissioner to the Church of Scotland during 2012 and 2013.

Andrew Wyllie

Andrew is Chief Executive of Costain Group PLC, the worldwide construction and engineering group. Prior to taking up this role in 2005, he worked for Taylor Woodrow where he was Managing Director of the construction business and was a member of the Group Executive Committee.

He is a graduate of the University of Strathclyde, has an MBA from London Business School and is a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, a member of the CBI Construction Council and a Companion of the Chartered Management Institute.